Annual Work Report of the Energy Advisory Committee for the period from 1 January to 31 December 2016

I. Terms of Reference of Energy Advisory Committee

The Energy Advisory Committee (EnAC) is a non-statutory committee set up in July 1996 to advise the Government on energy policy, including policy matters concerning energy supply and demand, energy conservation and efficiency, and other related matters referred to it by the Government.

II. Membership of EnAC

EnAC is chaired by a non-official and comprises non-official members representing different sectors of the community and official members from relevant policy bureau and department. The Chairman and members are appointed by the Secretary for the Environment. The membership of EnAC in 2016 was as follows –

Chairman

Prof Raymond SO Wai-man, B.B.S., J.P.

Members (in alphabetical order)

Mr Cary CHAN#

Ms Clara CHAN Yuen-shan

Mr Thomas CHENG Kin-hon, M.H.#

Mr Daniel CHENG Man-chung, M.H., J.P.

Ms Vena CHENG Wei-yan

Mr Victor CHEUNG Chi-kong

Ms Susanna CHIU Lai-kuen, M.H.

Mr Paul CHONG Kin-lit, M.H.#

Mr Andrew FUNG Hau-chung, J.P.

Mr JAT Sew-tong, S.B.S., S.C., J.P.

Mr Jimmy KWOK Chun-wah, B.B.S., M.H., J.P.

Mr Wilson KWONG Wing-tsuen*

Ms Janice LAI Wai-man#

Mr James LAM Yat-fung*

Mr Christopher LAW Kin-chung, J.P.

Mr Alfred LEE Tak-kong, M.H.

Dr Michael LEUNG Kwok-hi#

Dr Guy LOOK

Dr LUK Bing-lam
Mr Kalmond MA Kai-chi[#]
Dr Billy MAK Sui-choi
Ms Rerina OR Siu-ching^{*}
Ms Yvonne SHING Mo-han, J.P. [#]
Mr Cliff TANG Wing-chun^{*}
Mr Luther WONG Lok-tak, J.P. ^{*}
Mr Stanley WONG Yuen-fai, S.B.S., J.P.
Mr Thomas Jefferson WU, J.P. ^{*}
Mr YU Hon-kwan, M.H., J.P. [#]
Dr William YU Yuen-ping

Permanent Secretary for the Environment / Director of Environmental Protection *or representative*Director of Electrical and Mechanical Services *or representative*

Secretary

Principal Assistant Secretary for the Environment (Electricity Reviews)

- III. <u>Major Activities of the EnAC during the period from 1 January to 31 December 2016</u>
- (1) Meeting on 20 September 2016
 - (a) Membership of the Energy Efficiency and Conservation Sub-committee

The Committee endorsed the proposed membership of the Energy Efficiency and Conservation Sub-committee and the nomination for Mr Stanley WONG Yuen-fai to continue to serve as the Chairman of the Sub-committee.

(b) Briefings by Power Companies

Following the appointment of Members to the EnAC on 15 July 2016, the two power companies, viz. CLP Power Hong Kong Limited (CLP) and The Hongkong Electric Company, Limited (HEC), provided Members with background briefings on their business activities as well as their interim

^{*} appointed since 15 July 2016 * retired after 14 July 2016

results, latest sales volume, fuel price trends, future outlook and challenges and heard Members' views and suggestions. Members were also briefed on HEC's proposal to construct a new gas-fired generating unit, which was approved by the Executive Council on 13 September 2016, to implement the 2020 fuel mix.

(2) <u>Visit to T · PARK on 8 November 2016</u>

Members visited T · PARK, Hong Kong's first sludge treatment facility, to learn about its sludge incineration and self-sustaining operation systems which cover power generation, desalination and wastewater treatment.

(3) Meeting on 13 December 2016

Electricity Tariff for 2017

(a) Presentation by HEC

(b) Presentation by CLP

Members discussed the two power companies' tariff proposals for 2017, which would be presented to the LegCo Panel on Economic Development on the same day. CLP proposed freezing the average net tariff for 2017 while offering a one-off fuel rebate of 2.3 cents and HEC proposed a 17.2% reduction (including the Special Rent and Rates Rebate and Special Fuel Rebate) in the average net tariff for 2017. Members were also briefed on CLP's proposal to construct a new gas-fired generating unit, which was approved by the Executive Council on the same day, to implement the 2020 fuel mix.

Secretariat, Energy Advisory Committee